Expectations of Explorers - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Rein Vos - WaarBenJij.nu Expectations of Explorers - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Rein Vos - WaarBenJij.nu

Expectations of Explorers

Door: Rein Vos

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Rein

17 April 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, York

I had expectations to live up to when I got out of bed yesterday, because I'd just written about how it would be spectacular (much unlike the day before).
So did yesterday live up to the expectations? Read this blog and decide for yourself.

The first thing we did worked out perfectly. We had to leave the house either before ten o'clock or after eleven o'clock. The evening before, we'd decided that we would leave before ten, because we are definitely NOT LAZY. That is exactly why I found myself waking my dearest friend up at a QUARTER TO TEN. The poor guy had had very bad headaches in the night. Our plan to leave before ten was sort of not exactly working out well. So as I went down to make some breakfast for us, he had a shower. I was upstairs just before ten o'clock and we'd have to wait until eleven to leave the house.

I am not going to say anything about the fact that we actually left the house at half past eleven. Seriously. We are NOT lazy.

So then we left the house on the TANDEM, but as you know we are in England. So what are the chances you have good weather just one day if you stay here ten days? Exactly, about 0,0001%.

But, because we are the luckiest people on earth we have already had three of those days. Seriously, the weather here is more than better than outstanding. We didn't need coats on the tandem.

York is a very pretty city, as I have probably told you before in one of my blogs. I just feel the need to emphasize it once again.
York is PRETTY.

We put our tandem somewhere 'safe' and locked it. Then we got on our way. First destination? Any place where I knew where we were. When we got to such a place, we could finally walk through the city. It is very pretty, have I mentioned that before? I probably haven't.
York is PRETTY.

I have no idea why, but there we a lot of street artists in York. One of them had a very annoying voice, but did manage to juggle knives sitting seven feet in the air on a unicycle. That was pretty cool actually.

As you know, I had to have a new book. Thankfully, England is not short on bookstores. The first store we entered was also the store in which I've bought a new book. I am very sorry to my friend as to how long we've been there, I just couldn't find the right book. Now I bought "The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August", does anyone know if the book is any good? I think it might be, but I haven't read further than the first three pages because, frankly, I was about to faint last night, but we'll get to that later.

When we finally left the bookstore, we had no idea what to do. So we went to a museum. Seriously. I was actually looking forward to the museum. We got this receipt from our host, which should let us in without paying. The lady there, however, asked us for some sort of code.

"What code?"
"Did you get this yourself or did someone give it to you?"
"Someone gave it to us."
"This thing only works for the one who's bought it in the first place."
"Oh."
"I will send it back to the person it belongs to."

....

We couldn't have done that ourselves? We got the receipt back, but only after trying really hard.

Why is it so hard to trust teenagers?

We went back into the city, cursing at the system. But it was a beautiful day, so exactly how long can you be angry with someone for not letting you into a museum? Not quite so long.

The city of York is beautiful, it has lots of picturesque, small streets. We went off to find something to bring home, but I'm afraid that is something York is short on. Sorry back there, we haven't found anything (yet).

In the meanwhile it was half past two. As I've told you, the way to York (and back) is a very beautiful route. There are many places where you can choose a sidepath and end up completely somewhere else. We decided it would be nice to try that. We kind of decided we wanted to get lost. You have to be lost to get to a place that cannot be found, agree ;)?

So we bought sandwiches at a poundworld and got something to drink. Then we jumped on our tandem and blasted off into the wild. We had many dangers to avoid and it was certainly a very exciting trip.

Actually, it was fairly simple and we basically sat down on the first bench we saw. We had second-lunch there. Walking around in a city is quite tiring, did you know? So our feet were very happy to finally have some rest.

After our adventure, we returned to the road and returned to the house. When we were there we did some very exciting things, like, watching a movie. Just before the movie was finished, we were called downstairs because WE WERE GOING OUT FOR DINNER. We went to an indian restaurant where they had a buffet.

That was hot. Seriously. I'm quite happy they put some bread on the table or my tongue would probably have decided to jump into the river (I am exaggerating, in case you haven't noticed). It was very nice and I liked it a lot there. We joked while walking back to the car and the jokes we made there are never to be told ever again. It had to do with very hot food, and what happens after that.

We went back home and watched a fantastic Top Gear special, then went to bed. I tried to read something but I was too tired to even get to the fifth page. So I guess today will be my first read-before-I-go-to-sleep-day.

Today we'll be working in the library all day. I am looking forward to it.

  • 17 April 2014 - 09:26

    Gwenda:

    Have fun in the library today! Glad i'm not in a house with three man having had a curry the evening before....:-))

  • 17 April 2014 - 13:55

    Miriam :

    I hope you enjoy your day and that the food tonight will be less hot than yesterday! Have you, too, fallen in love with English bookstores? :) xxxxx

  • 17 April 2014 - 14:05

    Rein Vos:

    I have, the absence of John Green was kind of disappointing but wow english bookstores are great :D

  • 17 April 2014 - 14:55

    Aletta:

    I seriously think you should see more books during your trip...
    ....
    ....
    ....

    Just kidding. Haha, but your jokes are much more fun. ;) I had a big smile on my face while reading your story, a story which definitely lived up to the expectations by the way! And you two are very active, cycling all the way to York (I wondered, err, is York pretty? :))

  • 17 April 2014 - 16:48

    Oma Aaftien:

    Why Reinder, leave the house before ten or after eleven? Geldt dat ook voor ons? Is York PRETTY? I absolutely agree with you. Wat heb ik gelachen om je blog, ga zo door!

  • 17 April 2014 - 18:45

    Rein Vos:

    Grandma, that rule was set up because our host had a meeting with someone. As you know, he won't be there when you get there so no, there are no rules concerning when we are to leave the house :)

    Aletje, I could definitely see more books :D

    And thanks all for having a smile on your faces :)

  • 17 April 2014 - 19:42

    Riq:

    Although a fox is an intelligent animal, fast enough to get what he wants, apparently museums are obstacles, almost impossible to jump over.
    I, just driving a car on beautiful highways with even a seat next to me instead of behind me compared to your tandem, may have the solution for you. Just in case you would love to visit that MUSEUM. Haha.
    Just buy a ticket or two, show me your receipts when you are back at home, and your bank account will be credited by the same amount as the costs for those tickets. Problem solved. :-)

  • 17 April 2014 - 21:49

    Rein Vos:

    Thanks a lot Riq ;) we'll keep it in mind!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Rein

Actief sinds 13 April 2014
Verslag gelezen: 198
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2859

Voorgaande reizen:

13 April 2014 - 23 April 2014

York!!

Landen bezocht: