Librarian Affairs - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Rein Vos - WaarBenJij.nu Librarian Affairs - Reisverslag uit York, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Rein Vos - WaarBenJij.nu

Librarian Affairs

Door: Rein Vos

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Rein

15 April 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, York

Why do I like english people speaking english so much? We just had the first full day in England and so this is the first time this Wiswex that we were drenched in the english language. We had the morning off, so I decided to read The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. Seriously guys, when I'd finished I googled the book and the first thing Google suggested was:
The Fault In Our Stars price

....

Price?

If it were a hundred euros, I'd still buy it. That book is most likely the best book I have read in years. You should read it too. So stop reading my blog and start reading TFIOS.

Anyway, by half past eleven it was about time to stop reading (which I reluctantly did) and go to the library. Ah, the irony. Put away my book to stare at so many others.

The library, where we would be volunteers until six, happened to be very close to the house. That was nice. We got there just before two, so we waited until it opened. When it did, the door was opened by the nicest lady England has ever known. I'm sorry to all the heartbroken english girls reading this (of which I don't think there will be many), but try to be as nice as this woman and you'll never quite live up to expectations.

Anyway, we got the grand tour around the library. No matter how small the library is, there are many things to manage. After the tour, we took a break, which was good. We had worked so hard (?) After the well-deserved break, we managed to actually get some work done. We helped finding the books that had to be shipped off to other libraries either because a person had ordered them or because the books rotated around different libraries. When it was five o'clock, she asked us whether we wanted to call it a day. We were not allowed in the house until half past six so we decided it would be better if we didn't. Also, I liked the library, that was enough reason for me to stay.

And then we started rearranging the shelves. Which was useful, and. So. Boring.

The minutes crawled by and when it was a quarter to six we stopped. I must say, I really like that library but I really disliked the last 40 minutes.

Then it was six o'clock. We weren't allowed in the house until half past six. What should we do? We had a fantastic idea, we needed something to eat. So we went to the Tesco and got food. Honestly, the combination of Tesco, Reinder, Tired, Hunger and Saving Money does NOT go well together.

So whenever you see a hungry Rein looking at the prizes at two o'clock at night in the Tesco.
RUN FOR YOUR LIFE!

Not that it'll happen often or anything, just run anyway.

When we went home, the first and last thing I needed was to sit down and stop being anything but tired.
However, there was food to cook.

Darn.

After we'd eaten, I felt so much better that I didn't need to sit down anymore. I did anyway. So we watched a funny movie in the living room and then went upstairs to 'sleep'. Well, they went upstairs to sleep and I went upstairs to read. I finished TFIOS. Everyone who is stupid enough to have read until this part in my blog, WHY ARE YOU STILL READING THIS? Get your own copy of TFIOS RIGHT NOW.

So I decided it was a privilege to have my heart broken by TFIOS <-- a TFIOS quote, but you knew that because you've read it by now.

After I'd finished the book, I went to sleep. I just woke up and decided to write my blog, so if you want to read my blog it's right here! The only thing you have to do to read it is return to the top of the screen.

Have fun reading!

  • 15 April 2014 - 08:58

    Gwenda:

    It's super fun to read your blog!!! Bye, i'm off to buy that book you're talkkng about!

  • 15 April 2014 - 09:04

    Rein Vos:

    You haven't read it yet?
    grrr

  • 15 April 2014 - 11:41

    Gwenda:

    Hahaha sommige mensen moeten werken!! :-))

  • 15 April 2014 - 14:21

    Hazel:

    Haha, you should write a TFIOS of your own, starting with this very blog. That name is because I've read the book not because I googled it or something like that, noooo, not at all :)

  • 15 April 2014 - 17:25

    Miriam :

    And it isn't even 100 euros so you'll be fine :) looking forward to seeing the movie with you! Have fun there :) xxx

  • 15 April 2014 - 18:32

    ReinVos:

    Hazel,
    I believe you have read the book and I am so proud of you!

    Dearest Miriam,
    It may not exactly be €100.- but it's worth it. I'm just hoping that the movie can live up to the expectations... Sure it will :)

  • 15 April 2014 - 19:36

    Miriam :

    John Green loved the movie, so I hope we will too :)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Rein

Actief sinds 13 April 2014
Verslag gelezen: 143
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2867

Voorgaande reizen:

13 April 2014 - 23 April 2014

York!!

Landen bezocht: